past Awards

Coach of the year

Congratulations to Jessica Trefry, Michigan Center Varsity coach for being honored as CCCAM's 2020 Coach of the Year!



2020 is my 22nd year coaching, at Michigan Center High School.  3 years as JV coach and this is my 19th year as varsity coach.  We have won 17

conference titles, 8 district titles, 5 regional titles, 5 State Championships,

one runner up, and been state finalists for 16 years. 


We were named the Academic All-State team for Division 4 in 2007 and have been runner up

several times.


As a coach, I have periodically been named District and Regional Coach of the Year.


I am a member of CCCAM. I have served several times on MHSAA

committees.  I have spoken at CCCAM Coach’s Summit and Champion’s

Coaches Camp.


Personally, I have been married for 22 years and am a mother of a 16 year

old daughter. I am a Middle School Math Teacher at Michigan Center

Schools and also coach Robotics and MS Track.


Congrats Jessica! 

2021: TBD 

2020: Jessica Trefry, Michigan Center 

2019: Christina Swansey, Grand Blanc 

2018: Brianna Verdoodt, Utica Stevenson 

2017: Tricia Williams, Rochester Stoney Creek 

2016: Susan Wood, Rochester 

2015:  Penny Grinage-Guy, Shelby 

2014:  Beth Campbell, Notre Dame Prep 

2013:  Jamie Slot, Brandon 

2012:  Kelli Matthes, Richmond

2011:  Nancy De Avila, Lake Orion 

2010:  Kristie LaFleur, Mt. Pleasant 
2009:  Jenna Ruddell, Stevensville Lakeshore
2008:  Julie Goodwin, Allen Park
2007:  Randy Orr, Bloomingdale
2006:  Soni Latz, Ovid-Elsie 
2005:  Heather Prentice, Portage Northern
2004:  Peggy Lintenmuth, Holland Christian 
2003:  Deb Gaines, Breckenridge 
2002:  Kathy Felty, Comstock Park 
2001:  Liz Kazik, Grosse Ile 
2000:  Stacy Smith, Plainwell 
1999:   Julie Smith-Boyd, Grandville 
1998:   Jann Stahr, Flat Rock 
1997:   Sherry Fedewa, Pewamo-Wesphalia 
1996:   Pat Christiansen, Gibraltar Carlson 
1995:   Susan McVeigh, Rochester

Hall of Fame


2020: Julie Goodwin, Allen Park

2019: Liz Kazik, Grosse Ile

2019:Penny Grinage-Guy, Shelby

2019: Beth Lockhart, Notre Dame Prep

2016: Stephanie Brosky, Troy Athens

2014: Heather Prentice, Portage Northern/Climax-Scotts/Laingsburg

2012:  Kathy Felty, Comstock Park 

2008:  Randy Orr, Bloomingdale/Lake Michigan Catholic

2008: Susan Wood, Rochester
2008: Julie Smith-Boyd, Grandville


Distinguished service


2012:  Craig McEwen, creator of

2012:  Suzanne Martin, former MHSAA Asst. Director, director for Competitive Cheer

2008: Jann Stahr
2008: Pat Christiansen




CONGRATULATIONS to the 2021 Scholarship Recipients!! - COMING SOON!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2020 Scholarship Recipients!!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2019 Scholarship Recipients!!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2018 Scholarship Recipients!!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2017 Scholarship Recipients!!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2016 Scholarship Recipients!!

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2015 Scholarship Recipients!!  

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2014 Scholarship Recipients!!  



Congratulations to our Academic All State honorees!

2021: Team Individual

2020: Team | Individual

2019: Team | Individual

2018Team | Individual

2017: Team | Individual

2016:  Team | Individual

2015:  Team | Individual

2014:  Team | Individual

2013:  Team | Individual

2012:  Team | Individual

2011:  Team | Individual

2010: Team | Individual
2009: Teams/Individuals
2008: Teams/Individuals
2007: Teams/Individuals
2006: Teams/Individuals

2005: Teams/Individuals